top of page

Go Loco for Coco

Hi, it's Alex again, I hope you've all had a wonderful Easter, despite the lockdown. I spent my Easter sewing, as I am sure many of your did, and today, I have written a quick blog post for you about my latest make; the Tilly and the Buttons Coco top. So grab a cuppa, sit in the sun for a minute and have a read about this classic pattern.


The Tilly and the Buttons Coco Dress and Top is one that has been around for a while. It's a classic boat neck tee in its simplest form, but with the variations in the pattern, you can have a funnel neck top or dress , as well as optional cuffs for the sleeves. It can be made up in virtually anything with a little bit of stretch, as it doesn't fit too close the the body.



In this week's kits, we have selected our brand new Galaxy Cotton Jersey or our Pewter Spots Cotton Jersey to go with the Coco pattern. The two fabrics are slightly different weights, but would both make a beautiful Coco. When I first laid eyes on our brand new Galaxy Cotton Jersey, I immediately bagged myself some and turned it into a Coco the same day! The Galaxy Jersey is ever so slightly thicker than most, as it has a loopback/French Terry back, making it perfect for crisp spring days (or slouching on the sofa during lockdown).


The Coco is a relatively simple make, and in it's most basic form, there are just three pattern pieces, therefore making this a great for pattern for beginners - especially as there's no pesky neckband to ease in. As usual with Tilly patterns, the instructions are great and guide you gently all the way through, from stabilising the shoulders to hemming the neckline. You can also make the whole garment on your regular machine, with either a zig-zag or stretch stitch, without the need for an overlocker.



I absolutely love the way my Coco turned out! I decided to add the cuffs to the sleeves, making them the perfect length for me, as they just cover the tops of my hands. I also love the flattering curved hemline and the wide boat neck. This is my first Coco, but it's definitely not going to be my last - I am now loco for the Coco!


If you love the look of the Coco, but you're not a fan of the fabrics available in the Kits this week, then just send us an email and we can make a bespoke kit up just for you. The Coco is so versatile, meaning that it would make up beautifully in lots of our other fabrics too. Why not try it in a lightweight cotton jersey for the perfect Spring top, or in a cosy rib for the ultimate in isolation comfort.



The Coco is a classic style top, that will never go out of style, and is a great sewing palette cleanser, should you want a quick make. So jump on the Coco bandwagon and grab yourself one of our Coco Sewing Survival Kits from the online shop, or email us and we'll make you up your own custom kit.


Keep Safe and Happy Sewing, Alex x

Comments


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
bottom of page